SQLitening Support Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the SQLitening support forums!

Author Topic: MaxConnections  (Read 567 times)

Fredrick Ughimi

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
    • Software Development Company
MaxConnections
« on: August 16, 2018, 09:37:50 AM »

Hello,

Has anyone used the MaxConnections in the SqliteningServer settings to a good effect. I assume the MaxConnections is equal to total number of systems on the network including the server using the application.

I have this scenario:

1. Total Computers on the network (including the server) = 5
2. MaxConnections=5
3. Actual Connections = 4 (I get maximum connection exceeded error) *


*I noticed that if there are just 4 computers connected and using the application. I get maximum connection exceeded error.

Note: I made sure no multiple instances of the application is allowed to run on a system.

Has anyone experience this before?

Best regards,
Logged
Fredrick O. Ughimi

fughimi@yahoo.com
- Freedom lies in being bold -- Robert Frost, Poet

Bern Ertl

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
  • Excellent
    • View Profile
    • InterPlan Systems
Re: MaxConnections
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2018, 12:14:01 PM »

Fredrick, is SQLitening logging connections to the SQLientingServer.LOG file?  Have you inspected it to verify what connections are being logged?  Is it possible that your application is opening more than one connection (ie. in a threaded function)?
« Last Edit: August 20, 2018, 12:15:38 PM by Bern Ertl »
Logged

cj

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 696
    • View Profile
Re: MaxConnections
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2018, 12:53:51 PM »

You might also look at List all Active Connections using SQLiteningServerAdmin.exe to see what is connected.

I increased MaxConnections in SQLiteningServer.Cfg while applications are running and
clicked Refresh the data and FACT using SQLiteningServerAdmin.exe.  It works as expected with multiple stations.

if you can't find the error, I would guess MaxMaxConnections in SQLiteningServer.Cfg got changed
and the FACT was not refreshed.  I bet it works, now?






« Last Edit: August 20, 2018, 01:28:23 PM by cj »
Logged
CJ

cj

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 696
    • View Profile
Re: MaxConnections
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2018, 01:24:08 PM »

Like Bern has said, the log should show what happened.

SQLiteningServerAdmin.exe
Tools:
List all Active Connections will show connections even if they will not be active for about 4-minutes then they will go way.

SQliteningServer.Cfg set to MaxConnections = 5

SQLiteningServer.log
08-20-2018 13:30:12 Conn #70 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50130)
08-20-2018 13:30:15 Conn #71 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50131)
08-20-2018 13:30:18 Conn #72 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50133)
08-20-2018 13:30:20 Conn #73 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50134)
08-20-2018 13:30:23 Conn #74 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50135)
08-20-2018 13:30:28 Conn #75 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50136)
08-20-2018 13:30:29 Conn #76 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50137)
08-20-2018 13:30:31 Conn #77 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50138)
08-20-2018 13:30:52 Conn #78 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50142)
08-20-2018 13:30:55 Conn #79 SK 620 CJSQLitening192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2 on port 50144)

08-20-2018 13:34:23 Dcon #75 WentAway
08-20-2018 13:34:23 Dcon #76 WentAway
08-20-2018 13:34:26 Dcon #77 WentAway
08-20-2018 13:34:47 Dcon #78 WentAway
08-20-2018 13:34:49 Dcon #79 WentAway











« Last Edit: August 21, 2018, 09:31:20 AM by cj »
Logged
CJ

Fredrick Ughimi

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
    • Software Development Company
Re: MaxConnections
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2018, 03:49:20 PM »

Hi CJ,

I would take a closer look at the log to see what is going on.

Hello Bern,

Quote
...Is it possible that your application is opening more than one connection (ie. in a threaded function)?

No. Like I mentioned in my earlier post, I made sure that doesn't happen.

Logged
Fredrick O. Ughimi

fughimi@yahoo.com
- Freedom lies in being bold -- Robert Frost, Poet

Fredrick Ughimi

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
    • Software Development Company
Re: MaxConnections
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2018, 06:20:41 PM »

No. Just one line and the value was 7.
Logged
Fredrick O. Ughimi

fughimi@yahoo.com
- Freedom lies in being bold -- Robert Frost, Poet