SQLitening Support Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the SQLitening support forums!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: setting up cloud server  (Read 6616 times)

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
setting up cloud server
« on: August 06, 2016, 02:30:21 PM »

I got a cloud server contract with 1&1 and trying to setup the SQLitening service...

SQLiteningServerAdmin says 'failed to start' and I can't find a log file. Any ideas. I'm using RDP.
Logged

Fredrick Ughimi

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
    • Software Development Company
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2016, 04:44:14 PM »

Hello Ken_Anthony,

Did you "Run As An Administrator" when you were running SQLiteningServerAdmin?

Just a thought.

Regards,
Logged
Fredrick O. Ughimi

fughimi@yahoo.com
- Freedom lies in being bold -- Robert Frost, Poet

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2016, 06:33:38 PM »

Yes, Administrator is the only user on the server right now.
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2016, 06:46:27 PM »

Crating a DB on the server by running a local mode program on the server works fine.
Logged

Fredrick Ughimi

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
    • Software Development Company
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2016, 06:50:13 PM »

I meant right clicking on SQLiteningServerAdmin and selecting 'Run As Administrator' to run SQLiteningServerAdmin.
Logged
Fredrick O. Ughimi

fughimi@yahoo.com
- Freedom lies in being bold -- Robert Frost, Poet

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2016, 08:14:56 PM »

Just tried right clicking and 'run as admin'... no difference.  It doesn't work on my local machine either. Could it be a path problem?
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2016, 08:26:34 PM »

OpenSCManager is where it fails. Trying to look deeper into it now.
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2016, 08:38:47 PM »

Some progress. It's not enough to right click and run as admin. You have to set run as admin in property page. Now it works on my local machine. However that did not fix it on server even with win 8 compatible mode. This has me dead in the water.
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2016, 08:46:49 PM »

I made no changes to cfg file. not sure, but it seems log file is only written on success (I have one now locally but not yet on server.)
Logged

cj

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2016, 08:49:29 PM »

Do you have a dedicated server running Windows?
Does the server allow running windows processes?
What do you mean by a cloud server? 

Most ISP's do not allow running executables.
On Windows machines if the server doesn't start it is
probably the firewall or not allowing your port or the anti-virus
blocking the service.

Logged

cj

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2016, 08:52:50 PM »

[General]
ServiceNameSuffix=
Port = 51234
Hosts = 192.168.1.2
LogConnDcon=Yes
LogInvalidInMessage=yes
CreateDatabaseAllowed=no
TrimLogManually=yes
MaxChunkSize=500
MaxConnections=0
ConnectionTimeOut=-1

At a command prompt please issue IPCONFIG and see if the IP v4 Address matches the Hosts line.

Virtual hosts running Windows probably wouldn't allow running a service or any executable unless you rent the machine.
Again, confused about cloud services being mentioned.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 08:55:09 PM by cj »
Logged

cj

  • Master Geek
  • ****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2016, 09:07:56 PM »

Quote
I made no changes to cfg file. not sure, but it seems log file is only written on success (I have one now locally but not yet on server.)
It is required to have the Hosts line match the IP v4 Address or the machine name.
The inbound port, say 51234 must be allowed by the firewall and the router may need to forward it to the
same address as on the HOSTS line.





Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2016, 09:36:12 PM »

ok. working with 1&1 support now. thx. I let them know this program is the entire reason I'm using there service. I'll get back to you.
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2016, 09:43:27 PM »

I gave support guy this link while they now are controlling server and pointed out IP must match. I'm waiting...
Logged

ken_anthony

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
    • Parked right now
Re: setting up cloud server
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2016, 10:03:24 PM »

As an aside. PB no longer works with the admin program unless I give it admin privilege as well now. At least now I can continue testing my program with a more realistic simulation of server ops on my local machine. I lost contact with the 1&1 support rep, but I have an incident ticket. I'm going to take a break now, but will report any news.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2